Emlor Raise Duke of Sutherland Cup

The first 18-goal final of the season at Cowdray Park Polo Club featured Black Bears against Emlor to decide the Duke of Sutherland Cup. Overcoming a slow start, Emlor scored five straight goals to take the lead and never looked back, capturing the 8-6 victory and the prestigious Duke of Sutherland Cup title. 

Both losing their opening games of the tournament, Black Bears and Emlor won their remaining matchups to set the scene for a thrilling final. Striking first, Black Bears utilized a balanced attack that began with one goal each from Jimbo Fewster, Ollie Cudmore and Patrick O’Dwyer to hold the 3-1 advantage. The momentum of the game switched when Black Bears found themselves in foul trouble, conceding four penalty goals in the third and fourth chukkas that ultimately pushed Emlor into the lead during a stretch of five unanswered goals. Juan Ambroggio and Richard Tyrone provided a formidable duo for Emlor, combining for seven of Emlor’s eight goals. Holding off a late charge from Black Bears, Emlor completed the 8-6 victory and secured their place as the 2021 Duke of Sutherland Cup champion.